Cheats to ignore files in git


I have this clump in my ~/.bashrc …

This provides the following commands:

git-ignore /some/filename/
git-unignore /some/file/name
git-unignore-all
git-ignore-list

##
## Git stuff, helpers
##
git config --global user.name AndyO
git config --global core.excludesfile ~/.gitignore
git_ignore () 
{ 
 if grep -e "^$1\$" ~/.gitignore; then
 echo $1 already ignored;
 else
 echo $1 >> ~/.gitignore;
 fi
}
git_unignore ()
{
 sed -e "/^$( sed -e 's/[]\/()$*.^|[]/\\&/g' <<< $1 )\$/d" ~/.gitignore -i
}
alias git-ignore=git_ignore
alias git-ignore-list='cat ~/.gitignore'
alias git-unignore=git_unignore
alias git-unignore-all='( > ~/.gitignore)'

If you desired, you could easily change the functions to loop over $@ to allow the user to provide more than one filename at a time.

About andyortlieb

I often find myself figuring out some niche oddities, only to find myself stuck on those same problems a year later due to my wide yet thin activity in certain topics related to my career and hobbies. This blog is where I document these nuances (or nuisances) to ease my pain the second time around, and hopefully that of some other fellow desperate internet scouts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

