TFTP GET transfer failing for some clients


This never dawned on me, but I spent too much time today figuring out why certain machines were unable to get files from a certain TFTP server. It turns out the “Certain TFTP Server” was not at all the issue. The tftp client (at least the one I’m using) opens up UDP port 34362 and waits for the server to drop data to it.

This of course means that you need to allow that traffic through the firewall.

About andyortlieb

I often find myself figuring out some niche oddities, only to find myself stuck on those same problems a year later due to my wide yet thin activity in certain topics related to my career and hobbies. This blog is where I document these nuances (or nuisances) to ease my pain the second time around, and hopefully that of some other fellow desperate internet scouts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

